DISCLAIMER: The Nigerian Institute of Medical Research (NIMR) official website address is www.nimr.gov.ng The Institute is not in any way responsible or linked to www.nimr-ng.org; and disclaims all references to, or reliance on any information contained within the website. While the information contained within this website is periodically updated, no guarantee is given that the information provided in this web site is correct, complete and up-to-date. Signed; NIMR- Management.

Public Health


The Public Health Department focuses on communicable and non-communicable diseases and other health problems that are of public health importance in the country. The Department conducts epidemiological (including control interventions), social and laboratory-based research on diseases such as onchocerciasis, schistosomiasis, filariasis, malaria and, in addition nutrition, reproductive and sexual health, and HIV/AIDS.

These research activities are conducted in collaboration with and support of local and international bodies such as the States' ministries of Health (e.g. Ondo, Ogun, Borno, Osun and, Niger), National Control Programs (such as National Onchocerciasis Control Program, National Schistosomiasis Control Program, Malaria Vector Control Unit/Roll Back Malatia), the African Program on Onchocerciasis Control (APOC), the German Technical Cooperation (GTZ), the office of Population Research, Princeton University, USA and the Swiss Tropical Institute.

Others include the Applied Research on Child Health (ARCH) project of Boston University School of Public Health under the auspices of USAID in Washington, the WHO, UNICEF, the National Institute for Communicable Diseases, the University of the Witwatersrand, Johannesburg, South Africa and the Centre de Recherche Entomologique du Benin, Cotonou.

Senior Research Staff

Dr. M. A. Mafe            Director of Research
Dr. O. P. Akinwale      Director of Research (NTD)
T. S. Awolola              Deputy Director (Research) / HOD
Dr. B. Adewale           Chief Research Fellow
Dr. M. A. Sulyman     Chief Research Fellow
Mr. A. K. Adeneye     Research Fellow II
Dr. P. V. Gyang          Research Fellow II
Mr. T. Nwofor            Scientific Officer
Mr. H. Uzoma            Scientific Office