NIMR Celebrates Prof. Stella Ifeanyi SMITH, Fellow of the African Academy of Sciences.

Stella Ifeanyi SMITH (PhD) is a Director of Research, with the Nigerian Institute of Medical Research and Professor of Microbiology from the Mountain Top University.

She obtained her pre-doctoral fellowship with European Union Scholarship, at the Withington Hospital, Manchester UK and post-doctoral fellowships at Bordeaux, France and Dresden and Munich all in Germany with INSERM and Alexander von Humboldt fellowships respectively.

Her special interest is in Molecular epidemiology, antimicrobial resistance and microbiome of infectious diseases agents such as Helicobacter pylori, Salmonella spp, Campylobacter jejuni and C. coli and Enterohaemorraghic E. coli 0157:H7.

She was a Consultant to the Maastricht VI project 2021 as well as the Real-World Gastritis Initiative (RE.GA.IN), Italy 2022.

She is a reviewer to several national and international journals. She is the founding President of African Helicobacter and Microbiota Study Initiative Limited by Guarantee (AHMSI Ltd/Gte) and Co-Chair of Food- Borne Disease Genomic Surveillance Network, an initiative of African CDC.

She is a Member of Editorial Board of several journals including being Special issue Editor on Helicobacter pylori and Campylobacter for the journal, Antibiotics and Microorganisms respectively.

She is a Fellow of the Nigerian Academy of Science (FAS), Fellow of Nigerian Academy of Medicine Specialties (FAMedS), Fellow, African Academy of Sciences (FAAS) and International Federation of Biosafety Association (IFBA) certified.

US Secretary of State Antony Blinken Visit

US Secretary of State Antony Blinken during his visit to the Nigerian Institute of Medical Research Lagos. From left, Professor Oliver Ezechi, Director of Research (representative of DG, Prof. Babatunde Lawal Salako).

Others are Dr. Joseph Shaibu (Researcher and Innovator) Dr. David Oladele (Head , Clinical Sciences Department), Professor Rosemary Audu (Head, Department of Microbiology), Dr. Muinah Fowora (Researcher and Innovator) and Chika Onwuamah (Researcher and Innovator)